Embracing our Diversity

The Department of Ecology and Evolution's Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee was formed in the 2020-2021 academic year, with the purpose of initiating, executing, coordinating, and promoting efforts to advance diversity, equity and inclusion in our department, our university, and across the scientific community.

Through actions and advocacy, the Committee seeks to make our department a vibrant scientific community in which research, education, training and outreach are strengthened by the expression of diverse perspectives and approaches. We also hope to contribute to advancing justice and equity at the University of Chicago, in the scientific fields of ecology and evolution, and in the larger society.

Please visit our DEI website for resources, suggested readings, and news of DEI events in the department and across the University.

The Committee is composed of faculty, graduate students, and postdoctoral scientists associated with the Department of Ecology and Evolution at the University of Chicago.

Current membership of the E&E DEI Committee: 

Phil Arevalo
Deanna Arsala
Meredith Cenzer
Sarah Cobey
Meredith Doellman
Paula Fernandez-Begne
Kristina Fialko
Katelyn Gostic
Santiago Herrera Alvarez
Will Koval
Marcus Kronforst
Darli Massardo
Joe Thornton